Foodie Friday – Apple Bumpkin Breakfast Break

Happy Foodie Friday athletes!  Today I’m sharing a recipe I haven’t actually tried yet, but I have every intention of trying it next weekend!

I follow The Paleo Secret on Facebook and I happened to scroll over this amazing looking breakfast bake in my feed today.

bake

Does that not look mouth-watering or what!?  I, of course, clicked the link for the recipe and it took me to the Naked Avocado blog.  I think I’m going to like this website, I see lots of perusing in my future!

Anyway, something about the fall and I just want to get in the kitchen to make something pumpkiny or appley – muffins, pancakes, dessert.  Anything fall flavored!

Next weekend I’m looking forward to a house full of company as we have family coming in town!  This seems like the perfect breakfast to make either Saturday or Sunday morning to serve with a side of fruit and coffee.  Yum!

bake2

 

Apple Bumpkin Breakfast Bake

Ingredients

  • 3 apples, chopped
  • 3 bananas
  • 8 eggs
  • 1 c almond flour
  • 1 can pumpkin
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1/4 – 1/2 c maple syrup, to taste
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 c slivered almonds
  • 1/4 c coconut ribbons

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Grease 9×13 baking dish with coconut oil and spread chopped apples in the baking dish.  Combine bananas, eggs, almond flour, pumpkin, coconut milk, maple syrup, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, sea salt and baking soda in blender or food processor.  Pour mixture over apples in baking dish.  Sprinkle slivered almonds and coconut ribbons on top.  Bake for 45 minutes to an hour until eggs are set.

Leave a Reply

