March 2015 Athlete of the Month

Meet Phillip Knight, our March 2015 Athlete of the Month!

phil 2

Phil, or Dr. Phil as we call him, is a med student & will soon be graduating & leaving us for his residency!  Although we’ll be sad to see him go, we’re excited for him as he celebrates this next phase on his journey into pediatrics.  Phil always walks into the gym with a smile!  He’s consistently in the box about 4-5 times a week & always cheering on & encouraging his fellow athletes. He’s made so much progress since beginning his journey to a healthier lifestyle & CrossFit!  Phil has always enjoyed yoga & came to us with great mobility, however, he has made great strides with his stability, strength and gymnastics skills!  His better food choices have paid off as he’s toned up & leaned out!  It seems like he’s constantly celebrating a weightlifting PR, getting better at his strict & kipping pull-ups, and busting out some toes to bar.  Keep up the great work, Phil, now & once you’re back in NY.  The best is yet to come!!

phil 1

1.  Tell us about yourself in a few sentences.  I’m a medical student graduating in May and going into Pediatrics. I have lived in Upstate New York, to undergrad in Philadelphia and finishing my schooling in Charlotte. I consider myself an average guy who likes a good adventure as well as my game shows at the end of a long day.

2.  What do you hope to achieve through CrossFit?  After beginning CrossFit, I had one goal in mind… A PULL-UP. And I have succeeded and can even do a few pull-ups. However, in pursing that goal, I have added new movements to a list that just continues to get longer. At the end of the day, I would like to be the best and healthiest version of myself. And if I see something fun like a mud run, I know I am strong enough to do it.

3.  What is your favorite CF exercise?  I would have to say I’ve really been enjoying the snatches lately.

4.  What CF exercise do you least like?  Wallballs and I aren’t the best of friends, that’s for sure.

5.  What would you tell someone considering trying CFP?  You can do it. I was you almost a year ago. CrossFit!!! That one word seems scary and just something that can’t be done by an average person like me. But I’ve seen average day heroes killing it at CrossFit. At CFP, you can increase your strength and overall health in a supportive and safe environment. You will learn how to use a barbell. You will learn how to do a burpee. And if you forget what name goes with which movement, they will show you (in my case, again and again and again). You start slow and work at a pace good for you. CFP is excellent in teaching movements and helping you with form to make sure you stay safe. The greatest part of CrossFit is everyone you work out with encourages you and helps you grow stronger. Just the other day I doubted myself and my fellow work out buddy said “Phil, add more weight. I know you can do it”. Moral of the story, CFP provides exercises that are modifiable to the individual and you will do things you thought were impossible.

phil

Leave a Reply

