Menu Monday – Paleo Granola

Welcome to the newest addition to our blog…Menu Monday.  Every Monday we will be sharing with you some of our favorite healthy recipes!  I mean what better way to start out the week than talking about food!  Hopefully some of these meals will help you to get a good, healthy start to your week.  What you do inside the box is only half the battle, what you eat outside is so important for your fitness goals…whether it be to drop a couple of pounds, lean out or gain some muscle!!!

We kick off Menu Monday with one of my all time favorites!  In fact, I have to hide this from myself because it is so good I just can’t stop eating it!!!   What was your favorite thing for breakfast as a kid?  What was your typical meal in college?  What is your late night guilty snack?  If you are like me, you answered all of these with CEREAL!!!  I love cereal.  I can eat it morning, noon or night.  The problem with all the ones in the store, is that they are loaded with oils, sugar and just really nasty processed ingredients.  I searched high and low for a healthy option, but even the so-called natural granolas contained all sorts of yuck.  I was complaining to John about this, when he said “why don’t you just google it”, the answer to pretty much all of the worlds problems!  So I did and that was when I found this gem…Paleo Granola.  The love story began and my life was changed when I put this stuff in a big bowl of milk!  I hope you all enjoy this one as much as I do.  Stay tuned for more yummy recipes to come!!!

309410

Paleo Granola

Prep time: 10 mins               Cook time: 20 mins
Inactive: 20 mins                  Servings: 6
448 Votes
i
Print Friendly and PDF
Ingredients:
– 1 cup raw almonds
– 1 cup raw cashews
– 1/4 cup raw shelled pumpkin seeds (pepitas)
– 1/4 cup raw shelled sunflower seeds
– 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
– 1/4 cup coconut oil
– 1/2 cup raw honey
– 1 tsp. vanilla extract
– 1 tsp. sea salt
– 1 cup raisins (or your favorite dried fruit)…I use golden raisins
***I changed my recipe slightly and did 1/2 cup almonds, 1/2 cup cashews, 1 cup oats (nope mine is not paleo so for those of you who eat oats, this way is amazing!)***

Equipment:
Food processor or blender
– Medium sized mixing bowl
– Stirring spoon
– Parchment paper
– Baking sheet

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 275 F. Place the almonds, cashews, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds and coconut flakes in a food processor or blender and pulse a few times to break into small chunks.
2. Place the ghee or coconut oilraw honey and vanilla extract in a medium sized saucepan over medium-high heat and allow to melt. Stir to combine, then add the ground nut mixture and stir until the everything is fully coated.
3. Spread the granola mixture evenly onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and cook for about 20-25 minutes or until lightly browned, stirring once or twice. Remove from the oven, add the raisins and sprinkle with sea salt, pressing the mixture together firmly to form a tight, flat surface.
4. Allow to cool for about 20-30 minutes or until fully hardened, and then break into chunks. Store in an airtight container for up to a week.

Click here for link to the original recipe!  Enjoy!!!
Leave a Reply

